Organisation & Management


PCOC is a collaboration between four Universities, each represented by a Chief Investigator:

  • Professor Kathy Eagar, Australian Health Services Research Institute, University of Wollongong
  • Professor Patsy Yates, Institute of Health & Biomedical Innovation, Queensland University of Technology
  • Professor David Currow, Faculty of Health, University of Technology Sydney
  • Professor Claire Johnson, Cancer & Palliative Care Research & Evaluation Unit, University of Western Australia

Across Australia, Quality Improvement Facilitators (QIFs), support services to participate in PCOC and facilitate ongoing service development and quality improvement.

The national team, located within the Australian Health Services Research Institute at the University of Wollongong, coordinates the national patient outcomes reporting, recruitment and implementation, education program, and quality activities.


PCOC is governed by the Management Advisory Board (MAB). The Board is responsible for the strategic and executive management of PCOC and has an independent chair, Mr Noel Hicks.

The Executive Directors' Group (EDG) is responsible for supporting the operational functions of PCOC, financial reporting and other accountability requirements. The EDG is chaired by Professor Kathy Eagar.

Ad hoc scientific and clinical advisory committees are established as needed to provide advice to the MAB on development priorities, quality and outcome data and reporting policy, education issues and research and benchmarking priorities. Membership of these committees comprises individuals invited in their own right because of their particular expertise and representatives of key stakeholders.

Last reviewed: 30 April, 2018