AN-SNAP Version 4

The Australian National Subacute and Non-Acute Patient (AN-SNAP) classification Version 4

In December 2013, the Centre for Health Service Development, AHSRI, University of Wollongong, was commissioned by Independent Hospital Pricing Authority to develop AN-SNAP version 4. The classification development process involved a significant level of consultation with jurisdictions, clinicians and other key stakeholders across the subacute sector throughout the project.

Five specialist clinical committees were established to support the classification development in the areas of palliative care, rehabilitation, GEM, psychogeriatrics and paediatrics and specialised statistical techniques to produce a fully revised version of the AN-SNAP classification that reflects current and evolving clinical practice. AN-SNAP version 4 was released May 2015 and will be used to price subacute and non-acute services from 2016-17.

AN-SNAP Version 4 is available for download below:


Last reviewed: 16 January, 2017

CHSD thumb

Contact Us


Annual Professor Alan Owen Lectures AHSRI Education Program2017  Evaluation of the Encouraging Better Practice in Aged Care (EBPAC) Initiative Final Report 

Rugrats in Residence - The Feed (SBS VICELAND)